Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Law

Just when you think everyone is going to make you wear a helmet when riding your motorcycle, the state of Michigan is trying to change their current helmet law.  Odd as it sounds, the effort has passed in the state Senate and is headed for the Governor’s desk.

It doesn’t completely remove the helmet law from the books, but it amends the current law.  This law is being addressed as part of a bigger plan for broader insurance reform.

What the new law does, is allows riders over 21 the choice of not wearing a helmet after being licensed to drive a motorcycle for two years or having passed a safety course. Another stipulation is that motorcyclists are required to carry $20,000.00 of first party medical benefits coverage in case they are involved in an accident. The legislation initially tried to make it $100,000.00, but that did not pass in the Senate.

Motorcycle riders have tried for years to make wearing a helmet a personal choice in Michigan, and are on their way to at least a partial victory.

There are critics of this bill; the Insurance Institute of Michigan is one of those opposing the passage of the law, stating that it will cause an increase in rates for all policyholders.  They fear that the riders not wearing helmets will result in more injuries and deaths, which will result in higher costs to cover the increased risks.