Notice it’s only some riders. The law requiring that all motorcyclists and their passengers wear helmets that had been on Michigan books for many years has been amended. Local law enforcement agencies are now basing ticketing decisions on the following criteria:
The driver of the motorcycle must be at least 21 years of age and has had a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years, or has successfully passed a motorcycle safety course approved by the state of Michigan. Another requirement for the driver is having in effect first-party medical benefits for a minimum of $20,000.00 for the driver and another $20,000.00 for the passenger, unless the passenger is carrying a $20,000.00 security.
The passenger of the motorcycle must be at least 21 years of age, and carrying the insurance listed above, if the driver does not have the insurance.
Oddly enough, some jurisdictions don’t require that the driver or passenger carry proof of either passing a safety course, or the mandatory insurance. However, if a driver or passenger look under the age of 21, and are not wearing a helmet, that will give law enforcement officials reasonable cause to pull the motorcycle over.
Considering the controversy of helmet laws, I’m sure there will be more changes and comments to come with this decision.